Latest News

Schlatter named top seed at 70 kg, Marable scratched from Saturday's competition

Published June 12th, 2015 by MTC Staff

By Jason Bryant, MTC Storm


The 2015 U.S. World Team Trials kick off on Saturday, June 13 at the Alliant Energy Center in Madison, Wis.


The Minnesota Storm has two wrestlers competing in Saturday's competition and both will compete at 70kg/154 pounds.


Dustin Schaltter will come in as the tournament top seed after U.S. Open champion Nick Marable was scratched from the event. Preliminary indications are that Marable will try to petition to get a wrestle-off against the Trials champion at a later date.


With Schlatter being the top seed, he'll have a first round bye and then wrestle the winner of the Derek St. John-Moza Fay match in the semifinals.


Schlatter will try to make his second World Team. Schlatter last made the World Team at 74kg in 2009. His most recent international competition saw him win gold at the Pan Am Championships in Santiago, Chile in April at 70kg.


Should Schlatter prevail, he'll have to wait until a decision is handed down from USA Wrestling regarding a potential appeal from Marable. The most recent situation where an athlete was scratched due to injury was last season when U.S. Open champion Randi Miller was unable to compete. She later won a best two-out-of-three series against Veronica Carlson to make the women's freestyle World Team.


Kevin LeValley will be the third seed and open up with quarterfinal against sixth-seeded Adam Hall of the Titan Mercury wrestling club. Both are college assistant coaches as LeValley will soon depart Minnesota to take a coaching post at his alma mater Bucknell.


His most recent international competition saw him take a bronze at the Granma Cup in Havana, Cuba.


There is a live stream available on as part of their Flo Pro subscription service and results are available for free at


70 kg/154 lbs.

Trials Tournament Seeds

1. Dustin Schlatter, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm)

2. James Green, Willingboro, N.J. (Titan Mercury WC)

3. Kevin LeValley, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm)

4. Derek St. John, Fargo, N.D. (Titan Mercury WC)

5. Moza Fay, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S. Army WCAP)

6. Adam Hall, Raleigh, N.C. (Titan Mercury WC)

7. Nazar Kulchytskyy, Madison, Wis. (Titan Mercury WC)



Full Seeds from USA Wrestling are available here

Are you a fan?

Let us know! (We may send you cool things.)


We’re not the only ones excited it’s Monday 💪 What are you pumped to accomplish this week? #Stormup Photo by…

Mon, Jan 23rd, 2023 4:22pm

Next Prev

Sponsors of the Minnesota Training Center

0 item(s)
Click here to Checkout